About gDonna
The photo is my son and myself. Now days you can get a photo made to look old like this one. This photo was taken when this was the new look.

Harry S Truman was president when I was born and world war II had ended. I grew up in a time when lunch was put in a brown paper bag and a sandwich was wrapped with wax paper. There was no such thing as pantyhose, we wore stockings that attached to the rubbery clippy things that attached to the girdle. Convenience stores were not common and when we took a trip we packed a picnic basket because many places did not have fast food. Highways had places to pull over and stop, some with picnic tables. Read more ....
 

Donna's Diary Posts

My Favorite Blog and Books
Recent Posts

Diary Reading August 20 - September 17, 1943

August 19, 2022

This weeks readings will be different as I mentioned in my last diary post.  In our diary of Lena, she is in the hospital and her diary readings stopped for many weeks.  Lil's posts are short so I am going to do all the diary posts up until Lena returns home from the hospital. 

I will continue here with the Diary of Lil and Bob.  I will come back with Lil's diary readings on September 17, 1943.

Friday, August 20, 1943.  Nice day done some watering.  Up to 3rd street store to shop - over to see Emma in eve- some cannery-

Saturday, August 21. Fierce Cold wind - Sat cleaning, baked apple & B Pudding- Bob done the shopping - called on Mrs. Hana

Sunday, Aug 22.  Cool but not quite so windy - Bob up for Chronicle & cut all the lawns - Neighbors all off for the day - very quiet.  (there are double Sunday and Monday's due to Lil turning pages wrong)

Sunday, Aug 23.  Sunday 29th Lost two dates in turning over the pages - had to turn back - Nice day- Bob cut lawns

Monday, Aug 24.  Mon - 30th Nice, but hot in P.M. - watered lawns in a.m. - B.B. made call - Up town to shop in P.M.

Monday Aug 25. Cold & windy in P.M. worked Nuco - watered all lawns - B Marshall in with letter from Ollie.

Tuesday Aug 26. Fine Day - canned some more apple sauce - sprinkled front lawn - Bob home with 2 roosters to be dressed.

Wednesday Aug 27. Fine - some warmer - Ruth in for a while - Up town with  Bob to shop.

Thursday Aug 28.  Cloudy in a. m. Done the washing - Bob up to City Hall for Tarion  Gas book Ruth went along - 

Friday Aug 29. Quiet warm in P.M Done the ironing  - Bob home late 100 lbs ice.

Saturday Aug 30 - Nice cool day - vacked the rugs.  Bob home Early & up town to shop.

Somehow her dates were all messed up matching date and day so there is a jump in day but not date.

Tuesday Aug 31- Hot day 98 degrees on back porch 90 degrees inside - had Electric Fan running - J & E over in Eve.

Wed Sept 1, 1943.  Nice & cool today Done a little washing & some watering - Resting some after Yesterdays heat. 

Thursday Sept 2, 1943.  Cool day - worked Nuco - done some ironing - over at Frahms for some Tomatoes.  

Friday Sept 3.  Fine day - Done the mending.  Bob home late then up town to shop for Richard - Short visit with Ruby Armbruster.

Saturday Sept 4.  Cool Day - Usual Sat.  Cleaning - Bob done the shopping - Dressed 2 Chickens - Frahms roofing their home.

Sunday Sept 5.  Fine day - Slept late - Bob walked up town for chronicle - cut lawns & etc. 

Monday Sept 6.  Labor Day - Every body works at our house - watered lawns all forenoon.

Tuesday, Sept 7  Cold wind Done a bit of watering - B. Marshall called in a.m. - Bob fixed a leak in roof of Porch. 

Wednesday, Sept 8. Cold & Cloudy - Bob home at 1 P.M.  To town to shop & Bob to city hall for B.R. Card called on P.A. & Emma. 

Thursday, Sept 9.  Cold for Admission Day.  Canned tomatoes - Bob burned garbage in P.M.

Friday, Sept 10. Fine day - Done the wash - Bob up town to shop.  Mrs. Pettygrew called in P.M.

Saturday, Sept 11.  Fine day - usual Saturday work - Baked a pan of Ginger bread Mix. - B.M called in a.m. Bob home early.

Sunday Sept 12. Fine day - Left for Larkspur at 10-15 - home at 4-P.M.  Got 10 lbs sugar Bob cut lawns - Hansen birthday.

Monday Sept 13.  Nice day - watered yards in a.m. made A-S- & peeled most of tomatoes for canning . Letter from E.D. Will D. passed away.

Tuesday Sept 14.   Very cool day - finishing tomatoes.

Wednesday Sept 15. A very cool day - done the laundry - Bob up town toshop - Ruth & Judy over in forenoon - Ruth in trouble over Nancy.

Thursday Sept 16.  Fine day - Ruby Ambruster and little Nancy in this a.m. also Ruth Clisbu - Baked a molasses cake. 

This is end of diary readings, will be back in a few weeks picking up Friday September 17.  

Now on to the few posts from Lena.

When we left off with Lena suddenly went missing and reading forward found she was in the hospital.

Lena's last two posts she mentioned she had a little girl help her in the house and the next day said she was going to write some letters.  Then all the pages were missing until she got home from the hospital.

She went back and posted a few entries as she could remember things.

Tuesday Aug 17, 1943 I believe Mrs. Lafoe came today.

Wednesday August 25, Alma came this P.M.

Thursday August 26, This is the day they took me to the hospital.

Friday Aug 27.  Richard said Alma went back today. I am trying to remember some things.

Friday September 10, 1943.  Had a gelatin cast on my left ankle and got up in a wheelchair. 

Thursday September 16, 1943.  I might have gone home today but Richard was coming up tomorrow so waited wasn't sure when Id go home when he was here yesterday.

The next post is where we will pick up our normal diary readings.  It starts Friday September 17, 1943.  Came home from the hospital today and she writes a normal diary post.   

Will see you back with diary reading September  16, 2022.  

There will be a regular post coming.  Grandma Donna

 

Leave A Comment

Fill out the form above to leave a comment.Your email address will not be posted and is never shared!
If you can read this, don't fill out the following 3 fields.

Name
Email Address
Comment
3 + 4 =
 
Thank you for leaving a comment! Your comment has been posted.
Thank you for leaving your comment. Your comment is currently awaiting approval from the administrator.
There was an error with adding your comment

Comments

No one yet! Be the first and fill out the form to the left.
 
Sign up for email promotions.
Your information is safe with us and won't be shared.
Thank you for signing up!
 
Loading More Photos
Scroll To Top
Close Window
Loading
Close